“It was so funny to see how scared the fresh blood looked” (137).

I finished it a couple of weeks ago, and wasn’t entirely sure I would even write a review–but here it is. For it being a novel for young adults, I really enjoyed reading Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz. This author has also written Masquerade, Revelations, The Van Alen Legacy, and other novels that seem interesting. I was thoroughly impressed with how the book incorporated not only historical people, events, and places, but also Biblical stories such as the Fall of Lucifer. You can really tell that she did her research, which in my book, increases your credibility.

While this series has been out since 2006, I’ve only recently heard about it and started reading it. I was apprehensive to even read this series thanks to all of the vampire craze caused by Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight Saga. Granted, I did read her vampire novels as well–much better than their movies, but that is probably not saying alot. In any case, de la Cruz’s vampires are different than all other vampires–you aren’t sparkling like Edward Cullen for starters. I miss when vampires were almost taboo and you didn’t have screaming girls running around like mad-hatters! I wonder if they will have figured out that vampires would rather mutilate them than tenderly kiss their lips. ANYWAY.

I do have to say that if you like reading novels about vampires, then this would definitely be another to add to your arsenal. Some of the main characters are not always easily likable, but then again, people who have a stick up their ass rarely are. The main character, Schuyler Van Alen offers some connection to girls, while Oliver Hazard-Perry, her best friend, offers guys something to grasp onto. I truly can’t compare de la Cruz to any author I have read that writes about vampires or werewolves because I haven’t read anything like her before. Her vampires remember their former lives and, if they have a soul mate, they spend their lives searching for he/she. They just fit in with reality more than other vamp novels.

In any case, Kirkus Reviews states that Blue Bloods is “A juicy voyeuristic peek into the lives of rich Mahattanites–who happen to be vampires.” This is only slightly true, however, if you are like me, you might also pick up a bit of a history and/or supernatural lesson. While many people might consider young adult novels to be mindless and plotless, there is plot and multiple sub-plots. There is definite character development, and many twists that leave you wondering if that really just happened. I would have to rate this 3.5/4 out of 5.

