“She shook her head. ‘It’s too bizarre. It couldn’t be pulled off with Chadbourne anymore than with Kennedy. The office is too public.'” (142)

Well, the title says it all. Iris Johansen did an amazing job writing her characters and pulling the story together the way she did. I love a good conspiracy theory and this novel delivered those lovely qualities. Murder. Sex. Lies. It was quintessential conspiracy. It involved my favorite one of all–The Kennedy Family–America’s Royal Family. Was Kennedy really assassinated by Oswald or others? Where is his brain? Etc. Learning more and more about me every entry, aren’t we? Anyway…

Due to the importance of body language, specifically within this novel, I should mention the following. I have been told that it is difficult to read me–and sometimes I am greatful it is that way. But that is another story altogether. Reading body language is fascinating and I have  started trying to do just that. The direction of someone’s feet and their shoulders, eye movements, or lack of movement, the scratch of a nose or ear lobe. It might be totally horrible to do that, but hey, it is entertaining. In any case, I loved Johansen’s use of body language when describing the antagonists and protagonists.

Speaking of protagonists, Eve Duncan is a forensic sculptor. Most of the time, many authors spend the first few chapters giving you some kind of backstory to the character. That does not happen here. Duncan tells her story without the help of Johansen. It was kind of funny how greatly I connected with Eve and the correlations between her mother and mine. Granted–yes, I know, they are characters, but that does not stop what you feel when reading a novel. I think it is so important to draw connections between yourself and a character, that way, you enjoy the novel more than others. Now, if you are the kind of person who, after watching an action movie with lots of explosions and/or read a book with lots of action finds themselves wanting to pull off the stunts made visually and mentally available, I’d suggest staying far away from these book. Just saying. We don’t need a speed boat accident.

I enjoyed Eve’s desire to find her daughter who has been missing for eight years. That sounds horrible, but you can tell a mother (who has a sick kick for action) has written this novel. On a higher note, I can’t wait to begin reading the next novel. Granetd, I have read Killing Game before, so it it will be a different experience reading that novel than it was for never having read The Face of Deception. So, I am giving The Face of Deception a 3.5/4 out of 5. Well written and perfectly planned out.

