“I want a relationship I can finally sink my teeth into.” (120)

Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber was decent, but could probably be more appreciated by someone younger. I never thought I would need to say it because I thought it might be apparent to people, but I write for ages 13/14 to however old you might be. That being said, I believe I have just read my first novel for very young adults. Granted, I am still going to read the rest of the Vampire Kisses series, but let it be known right now: This is for people between the ages of 13 to 16. Without further ado…

Meet Raven. Sixteen years old, wears all black, and does not fit in. Most of all, somewhere deep inside, wanting to be a vampire, if not that, to meet one. Yes, yes, I know, I know. Been there, done that, still feel that way on occasion–the not fitting in, not the vampire part, haha. I guess I just don’t remember being so ungodly melodramatic. Anyway, one best friend and is disliked by a good deal of the community. I think that the only reason I can bear to discuss this matter is because Raven reminds me of me–seven years ago. So frustrated and in a room full of people I could feel so alone. I dunno. Looking at the copyright page, I now realize why I am reminded of my thirteen year old self: Vampire Kisses was published when I was 13. If I remember correctly–I hated the world. But anybody who knows teenagers will know that.

I really did not like the lack of control her parents had in their own house–it was kinda, I don’t know, rediculous. Caught me off guard. Granted, what was not lacking was character development. However, so cliche and stereotypical. I think I secretly loved it. Shh… Outcast girl meets new to the town outcast boy. They have a few dates. She finds out the truth after something horrible happens. He leaves because he loves her. What? You don’t leave, you try to work things out! Then again, this is a 20 year old talking. Other characters including Becky, Trevor, and Matt make up the other major characters, with Alexander rounding that list out as Raven’s love interest. All I am going to say regarding those particular creations: 1) The road to Hell is paved with good intentions; 2) What goes around, comes around–Karma will haunt you; 3) Don’t hide. So…

The way that Schreiber ends the novel irritated and confused me. Partially something else and a cliffhanger. And as my wonderful readers know, that means I keep reading until POOF!, no more cliffhanger or novels. So, you can imagine my bad mouthing when I reach the final page where everything has suddenly gone up shit’s creek without a paddle for Raven. I will have to read the next novel to see what happens. I will give Schreiber’s Vampire Kisses a 3 out of 5. I think that Vampire Kisses is a good starting point for anyone who is not sure if they want to jump into all that is a vampire novel, or if they want teenage romance that adds a bite of danger because the protagonist’s love interest is well, a vampire.

Happy reading!

