You showed me faith is not blind,
I don’t need wings to help me fly,
Miracles happen once in a while…
–Myra “Miracles Happen”

Hi Readers,

I wonder what goes on inside that boy’s head…

That boy is my brother, Robert.

Day 16 - A picture of someone who inspires you.

On March 28, 1995, Robert came into this world. He was the most adorable baby boy I had ever seen; except for the crying and screaming. As he got older, the crying and screaming did not end, and no one knew why Robert was not talking. We soon found out that Robert had Autism. Autism is a psychiatric disorder of childhood characterized by marked deficits in communication and social interaction, preoccupation with fantasy, language impairment, and abnormal behavior, such as repetitive acts and excessive attachment to certain objects.

Robert and I have not always been close because I did not fully understand Autism or my brother. I do not know if I ever will… but he inspires me every day. No matter how difficult life has been, he lives and breathes every day. He loves people no matter the consequences. He does all these simply because he can. Robert is a moment in time when everything is as close to perfect as possible. You could turn him purple, and make him walk backwards—I would still believe that. One could say he is a dream come true for I cannot imagine my life without him. I will not even try to explain to you the journeys I have been on with my brother. They are ongoing and deep like his laughter. Everything is just better with him in the world. Everyone always seems to immediately love him because his presence brings the peace, happiness, and joys that every person in the world should experience every day. His teachers and his friends’ parents say he is a wonderful child and that he is so many things. They will never begin to see the AMAZING being he is and all that he has taught and given me. It’s been fifteen years and he is still a light that is guiding me through hard times, and I know now that he saved me. My Guardian.

Is all well with you, my readers? I hope you have someone in your life who inspires you the way my little brother inspires me.

If you’d like to learn a little bit more about autism, please click here. Have a wonderful day.

❤ Nolaleigh

