Hi Readers,

How are you today? I’m just going to say it: I wish I was better at not being shy. It is fixable… but it takes so damn long. I am in an introvert by nature–this probably does not help the shyness, but I still like being around people–maybe not all the time, but definitely sometimes.

Day 22 - A picture of something you wish you were better at.

Being shy is horrible. I guess. In a classroom, or any place, I am the one sitting quietly, not really speaking to anyone. I’m not trying to be anti-social, or bitchy for that matter–I just prefer to observe my surroundings. I am much more comfortable out of the spotlight. This is a problem… especially in a classroom where discussion is mandatory.

Any teacher, without knowing it, could make me break into tears, stutter beyond control, blush five sheets of red, etc. You get the picture, right? I do okay when I’m in front of a classroom, because I’ve had time to prepare. Classroom discussions could just about kill someone like me because the discussion is right then and there. No prep work. I can’t bring up answers with a snap of someone’s fingers, I’ve tried…

It is intimidating when having to speak on the spot. I don’t have time to formulate an answer… which (in my head) makes me feel stupid in front of my peers. I fall deeper and deeper into discomfort, and I try, I really do try to counter act my embarassment/discomfort by saying or doing something that might be considered witty. To no avail. Sh*t out of luck in that department, I am.

On a lighter note, I am capable of saying hi–which I will do. You might have to press for any more than that at first, but I like talking to people as I become more acquainted with them. I know it’s probably alot to ask for… but that’s me… I’m always trying…

❤ Nolaleigh

