Hi Readers,

To get right to the point: Yesterday was my 21st birthday. One of the first things my roomie told me is that every birthday, her mother asks her three things: What was the best part of this past year? What was the worst part of this past year? And, what are you looking forward to in the coming year? So she asks me, what about you?

My dear readers, you get to know these answers as I discover them myself…

I think that the best part of this past year was the end of the school year in May. It is by far one of the hardest and best things I have ever done for myself. I sort-of left home in 2008 by moving on to campus, but that was for nine months out of the year. During breaks and summer vacation I lived at home… except for a month and half where I lived with a former friend of the family. Bad idea that was–long story short, she took advantage of the fact that I had never lived on my own and that we didn’t have our agreement down on paper. Won’t be making that mistake again. Anyway, after that I moved back in with my mum until school started back up again. I made the decision to move out from under my mum’s roof and off campus permanently in late January; after many a toil, Amanda and I moved picked up a third member, and this trio moved into a townhouse with two other people, a sixth person was only staying with us for the summer. So, May 7th came around, we signed documents and paid our dues, that same day, we began moving in. Ten months pass and here we are. 🙂

The worst part of this past year was probably during the Christmas holiday. Since my job allows me to work wherever I want to, I went home for winter break. Things were going great despite the fact that I would have to be around my mum’s (then) boyfriend. She loved him, so I tolerated him… and I guess you could say he did the same to her children. In any case, I had just gotten there when a couple of days into my stay, my mum got a call from his work. He had just fallen from a 12 foot ladder and was being rushed to the hospital. When he finally came home after my mum picked him up… long story short, I don’t care how much pain you are in, you don’t treat people like they are less than dirt. Seriously, treat others the way you wish to be treated. By treating people horribly, you make it so they really don’t give a damn (at least that is how it is for me). That short story short, things got worse and worse. Finally, on January 1, 2011, we packed the house, and by the next day, we moved mum’s stuff out and into storage, and got her a place to stay. It was the holidays–and I should have been happy. But I wasn’t even close to that. I hate seeing my family torn apart that way… their sadness and hurt serves no purpose to anyone. It has been awhile, but that was one of the worse holidays I’ve ever had.

The coming year has many possibilities. Nevertheless, if there is one thing I am looking forward to, it is the beginning of my senior year. It will be the start of the final chapter in this particular section of my life. I’m a mix of terrified and excited. I’ve a senior thesis to write, a couple of classes to take, bills to pay, etc. All things considered–whether it be something that happened right after my 20th birthday, or something that happened right before my 21st birthday–life is good right now and I’m not really sure what else I can say.

So there you have it…

From the perspective of a 21-year-old woman.

❤ Nolaleigh

P.S. You will also get to hear about Saturday Night, teehee 😉

