Hi Readers,

If my memory serves me correctly, this is the first posting for the 2011 Reading List, whoop whoop! I’ve decided to make minor changes to my book reviews as of now. You might notice, you might not. Either way, if you read my blog, I hope you enjoy what you find and that it might be a little helpful. So, here goes…

Ivy Devlin’s Low Red Moon is about a young woman named Avery who can’t remember the night her parents were murdered. Strange events begin to take place and she wonders if she is losing her mind. Interestingly enough, she falls for Ben,  the new guy in town who can’t remember that particular night either. It is a race to regain her memories and stand against the evils clouding the town.

I was covered in blood when the police found me. Head to toe: in my hair, on my eyelashes, in the skin between my toes. Dried so deep into my clothes they were taken away and I never saw them again.
(Pg. 1)

Small note: This quote makes me think of the show, Dexter… when he remembers who killed his mother and you get the full visual of his mother’s murder. The amount of blood in the show is cringe inducing, but a good show nonetheless. Anyway…

Worth note, the word “moon” is written in red every single time it is on a page. Seeing a red word makes me think of auto-correct in Microsoft Word. It took a while to get used to it–but the concept is original, at least to my knowledge.

My only complaint: By the very beginning we have a Twilight-esque novel. I mean, there are no vampires, but we have werewolves in place of the Cullens. In the middle of a BFE town. And I kid you not, almost word for word, Avery and Ben have the same discussion about being 17-years-old and for how long–almost EXACTLY like Bella and Edward. WHY? And the bond mate issue–seeing someone and being bonded immediately. At least Avery has a reason to be upset! I won’t even finish that thought, I think you get the idea.

Ivy Devlin’s Low Red Moon is my favorite new paranormal romance! Lyrical and engrossing, with a heroine we can all relate to and a sexy, mysterious new boy who’s a total fox–I mean, wolf!
— Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times–bestselling author of the Blue Bloods series

For the age group it is written for, very good book. I would recommend it to girls in high school. So, keeping in mind this book is geared towards Young Adults, I give Low Red Moon a 3.5/4 out of 5. The only major problem I had with this story is the huge  similarity to Twilight.

Until next time.

❤ Nolaleigh

