Hi Readers,

It has been a year, maybe a little more or less since I’ve read Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series. It is unfortunate because she is a great writer and her novels really pull the audience in. I’m not sure why I stopped reading… other than my school work… BUT, I’m back now and so is Anita in The Laughing Corpse:

Messy, Dolph had called it. A master of understatement. Blood was everywhere, splattered over the white walls like someone had taken a can of paint and thrown it. There was an off-white couch with brown and gold patterened flowers on it. Most of the couch was hidden under a sheet. The sheet was crimson. A bright square of afternoon sunlight came through the clean, sparkling windows. The sunlight made the blood cherry-red, shiny. (Pg. 18)

Trust me, I was being gracious by posting that particular quote. Hamilton does have a way with words. ūüôā I really can’t wait to read her other works, and more specifically, the ever-growing Anita Blake series. I kind of wonder how much Anita resembles Ms. Hamilton; her picture on the back-cover fits the image I get when I’m reading about Anita.

I love Anita. I love Jean-Claude. I absolutely adore¬†Hamilton’s other characters… but Anita and Jean-Claude… Their dialogue was awesome in The Laughing Corpse. I’m serious! Ask my mum… I scared the crap out of her one evening around 1 am because I was laughing so hard. I’ve been restraining myself from going and finding out what is in store for them in the future books… and I’m not a fan of being someone’s servant, but I am rooting for these two. Then again, if the relationship “works” between any vampire character and the mortal woman, I root for it… ANYWAY… These two characters are so well drawn out; in the first book, Guilty Pleasures, I really liked them bickering and overt “lusting” as Anita calls it, but here, I love it. I was all antsy waiting for Jean-Claude to show up–and he didn’t disappoint.

So, a little bit about the second novel in the Anita Blake series. This time, Anita has been asked to raise a corpse for a¬†client with deviant preferences. Ms. Blake soon learns the more powerful a person is, the more their monster within surfaces. Whether she’s defying a vampire’s rights over her life, or a voodoo grandma with a bad rep, she does it amazingly well. Sarcasm in full swing, Anita Blake kicks ass and asks for names later. Which in all truth, makes this series…

Monstrously entertaining.
— Publisher’s Weekly

The plot was hella¬†intriguing. I’d be getting ready to put the book down for the evening, and then BAM!, something would happen. I’d sit up in bed, “Say what?!” Aaand keep reading. On a side note, I don’t necessarily want to get involved, but researching voodoo would be pretty cool.

As soon as I can, I hope to pick up another book from the Anita Blake series. I mean, every time I finish one of these books, I become a bigger fan of Hamilton and this series. So, I am giving The Laughing Corpse a 4.5/5 out of 5. I was thoroughly entertained and can’t wait to pick up the next novel!

Until next time.

‚̧ Nolaleigh

