Hi Readers,

Obviously, no posts in June so we are going to post now… a little more than 6 months later. I’m going to keep changing my posts up until I find a style that suits me. Here’s to the one constant in life: Change. If you keep reading, you’ll find some tidbits here and there… maybe some spoilers…

7-4-13: Reviving Ophelia,  Mary Pipher, 4/5, “Most of what girls read in schools is written by men and about men. We need more stories of women who are strong, more examples of women in a variety of roles. History needs to include the history of women; psychology, the psychology of women; and literature, the writing of women.” (289)

→ It took me awhile to read this book, but once I finished it, I wished I owned it. I’ve read some reviews that call it biased. I’ve got to say–it is a book about girls/young women by a woman. I feel that if you’re going to call it biased because it doesn’t include the experiences of boys/young men, your argument wouldn’t really hold water with me because this particular book isn’t about the guys. What a concept?! In any event, I think this is definitely something every girl/young woman/woman should read simply because it does give some helpful insights. I wish I would have read this book sooner.

7-13-13: Bone River, Megan Chance, 4/5, “I heard those spirits again the night the river gave up its bones.” (9)

→ This book was a very different choice for me. I wouldn’t have usually chosen it… but one of my friends was reading it and he liked it… so I decided to give it a shot. The end result was shocking to me, but for some it might not be. I enjoyed reading it for multiple reasons–and let’s be honest I have a weakness for all things Native American. Leonie was a terrific character–and her chemistry with Daniel is destiny. Really good read.

7-30-13: Affliction, Laurell K. Hamilton, 4/5, “The only part of love that is blind is that first rush of endorphins and craziness; after that wears off, no one knows you as honestly, warts and all, as the people who love you, truly love you.” (297)

→ I really, really, really enjoyed reading the latest installment of the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series. There were a couple of books that made me question whether or not to keep reading… but if you’re 20 or more books into a series, I highly doubt you’d stop reading. There’s obviously something to the overall story that keeps me hooked. Old and new characters–they all help make this series something to remember. Anita Blake is definitely one of my favorite characters of all time.

8-9-13: He’s a Stud, She’s a Slut and 49 Other Double Standards Every Woman Should Know, Jessica Valenti, 5/5, “Looking back, I realize that it could have been any of those thing, or nothing. Most likely, it was because I had a bit of a  potty mouth (shocking, I know), told dirty jokes, and was louder, more opinionated girl than some of my peers. I know better now, and realize that labeling girls ‘sluts’ is a pretty common silencing tactic. After all, there’s no better way to silence a woman than to call her a whore!” (10)

→ FINALLY! THANK YOU! Another book women should read! Valenti is so not joking when she writes that she goes into 50 double standards. It took me a while to read this one as well (simply because my sister delivered my nephew and, at present, nobody has much time to do anything other than anything baby related–but he’s so perfect… OOPS!) but that just means I was able to appreciate it a little bit more! If you’re a man, read it. If you’re a woman, read it.

9-25-13: Those Who Save Us, Jenna Blum, 5/5, “She can never tell him what she started to say: that we come to love those who save us.” (445)

→ I couldn’t put this book down. I’d get angry because some parts and characters were just so disgusting, ie: The Holocaust wasn’t real, it was propaganda. Are you for real?! I couldn’t believe it. The fact that some people still deny that The Holocaust ever happened… long story short, just makes me sick. That being said, the progression of the plot interlaced with flashbacks was perfection. There was a reason for everything and elements came full circle by the very end of the novel. Incredibly enjoyable read… even if I did become livid at some points. 🙂

9-29-13: The Heretic’s Daughter, Kathleen Kent, 4/5, “And with every step I thought, I am my mother’s daughter, I am my mother’s daughter…” (322)

→ I actually started to read this while on a 20 minute break from reading Those Who Save Us. The only reason this wasn’t read by the next day was because I had chores to take care of around the house. Anyways… I’ve read a great deal of information about the Salem Witch Trials, but never anything about any specific person. I knew that things were difficult and, more than likely, strict, but I didn’t know that just a whisper could land somebody in front of a panel of judges. I wouldn’t have done well back then… I am definitely a woman of the now. The start of the book was kind of slow, but it sped up in the last 100/150 pages. A fiction, yes… but the imagination is a type of monster… and when facts might correlate with the imagination… the results are frightening. This would be a good read for anyone. I’m glad I finally followed through and read it.

11-21-13: Reconstructing Amelia, Kimberly McCreight, 5/5, “‘I want you to know… you were never a mistake, Amelia. You were the best thing that ever happened to me. You always will be.'” (380)

→ I don’t usually cry after reading a story. I might present strong feelings about one of the characters or events… but I wept after reading Reconstructing Amelia. The cruelty that people (especially girls and women) bestow unto others is… I don’t know… Tragic? Horrifying? Disappointing? So many different ways to put it. The fact is, we spend more time causing pain to others than trying to give them an ounce of happiness. That being said, overall, this was a fantastic read… so well written. It was a bit slow for me at the beginning, but when  it finally got going, I couldn’t put the book down. Reconstructing Amelia is what I call a “take a chance” book (not usually something I’d read, but generally very glad I did).

11-23-13: Shutdown, Laurell K. Hamilton, 5/5, “‘I am not an abuse victim, Ellen. I’m not a victim at all. I own my sexuality in every sense, and I top some of the men in my life. It’s not just me on the receiving end of the rough.'” (20)

→ It was super awesome to read this simply because it is another Anita Blake book. That being said, I really enjoyed Shutdown because it explained more of the dynamics of a polyamorous relationship… and trying to explain it to someone who has no idea about it at all… well, probably (obviously) incredibly awkward. It is refreshing to see Richard finally come into who he is… and I’m very happy to see that Anita and Micah are still going strong. Very quick read and can’t wait for what LKH brings us next!

So needless to say, I did not get to read everything I wanted to… but things CHANGE a lot when a baby comes into your life. Presently, I’m reading two books. I wanted to finish them before NYE, but that just wasn’t going to happen. That being said, Happy New Year. My hope is that 2014 will be kind to you.

Always,
Nolaleigh

